Semences de citrouille ''Jack be Little''

$2.59

Les citrouilles héritage ''Jack Be Little'' sont parfaites pour les décorations automnales. Les citrouilles miniatures poussent de 8 à 10 cm de large et de 5-6 cm de haut sur des vignes vigoureuses et robustes. ''Jack Be Little'' est une citrouille comestible, mais elle est le plus souvent utilisée pour faire des décorations et des lanternes miniatures.

 

- Nom latin: Curcubita pepo
- Cycle de vie: annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité: 85
- Profondeur des semences: 2 cm
- Espacement des plants: 90 cm
- Espacement des rangées: 1,5-2 m
- Habitude de croissance: vigne

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Les citrouilles sont l'icône par excellence, quoique non officielle, de l'automne. Elles incarnent symboliquement le temps des récoltes et font de superbes décorations, mais elles sont aussi très nutritives et peuvent être cuisinées de plusieurs façons. Pour obtenir une récolte d'automne réussie, les vignes et les fruits doivent avoir été exposés à une longue saison chaude et avoir amplement d'espace pour s'étaler.

Semer les graines directement au jardin lorsque la température du sol atteint 21 °C. Les citrouilles ne tolèrent pas le froid. Choisissez un site en plein soleil et ajoutez beaucoup de compost avant la plantation. Le lit doit être constitué d'un sol riche et bien drainé, car les citrouilles sont très gourmandes en nutriments. Les graines peuvent être plantées dans de petits monticules, où le sol restera plus chaud et bien drainé. Plantez 4-5 graines/monticule à 3 cm de profondeur. Laisser 1 à 2,5 m entre les monticules. Avec un sol tempéré, les semences devraient germer en une semaine environ.

Lorsque les jeunes pousses mesurent de 5 à 8 cm de hauteur, éclaircissez à 2 ou 3 vignes par monticule. Les citrouilles auront besoin d'arrosages fréquents, au moins 3 cm/semaine, et plus lors de la fructification. Paillez autour des plantes pour retenir l'eau et protéger les racines peu profondes. Veillez à ne pas endommager les racines lors du désherbage ou de la culture. Tailler les extrémités des vignes est une bonne stratégie pour concentrer l'énergie vers les jeunes fruits nouvellment formés.

Choisissez une journée sans précipitations pour récolter. Les citrouilles se conservent mieux lorsqu'elles sont récoltées à pleine maturité. Lorsque le fruit est orange foncé et que la peau est épaisse et ferme, utilisez une paire de sécateurs pour couper la citrouille de la vigne. Laisser une longue tige sur les fruits pour augmenter la durée de conservation. Laissez les citrouilles à l'extérieur pendant quelques semaines pour les curer au soleil. Après durcissement, entreposer dans un endroit frais et sec, aux alentours de 10 °C.

Que vous cultivier des citrouilles pour sculpter des monstres  d'Halloween, ajouter à vos décorations automnales ou pour faire des tartes maison, les citrouilles sont un gros atout dans tous les jardins!

FAITS EN BREF

- Originaires d'Amérique du Nord, les citrouilles sont l'une des plus anciennes plantes domestiquées, ayant été cultivées dès 7 500 avant J.-C.

- La citrouille est un aliment de base populaire pour l'Halloween et l'Action de grâce, et fait traditionnellement partie de la récolte d'automne.

- Les semences de citrouille resteront viables pendant 4 ans si elles sont entreposées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

<tc>Notre garantie sur les semences</tc>

Vous savez qu'un jardin luxuriant et fructueux a besoin d'un bon sol, d'arrosages fréquents et du soleil pour pousser, mais ce sont les semences qui font vraiment la différence.

Cueillies et ensachées pour 2023, la grande majorité de nos semences ont des taux de germination de plus de 85 %. Toutes nos semences sont entièrement naturelles, sans OGM, non hybrides, non traitées et à pollinisation libre pour récolter les semences année après année.

Nos semences sont  soigneusement emballées dans des pochettes refermables, en papier kraft/aluminium de qualité alimentaire. Nos commandes sont ensuite expédiées dans des enveloppes rembourrées respectueuses de l'environnement.

Nous thermoscellons chacun de nos sachets de semences pour encore plus de protection contre l'humidité, les odeurs et la lumière, vous permettant de conserver vos semences jusqu'à 3 fois plus longtemps que dans du papier ou plastique. Plantez-les toutes, faites-en germer quelques-unes à l'intérieur, gardez-en pour la saison prochaine - à vous de décider !

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 5 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
5
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
S
17/08/2021
Susan

SS
14/06/2021
Susan S.

Our grandson has planted and is watching w...

Our grandson has planted and is watching with anticipation for these seeds to mature into pumpkins. Great customer service and fast delivery.

SS
14/06/2021
Susan S.

Our grandson has planted and is watching w...

Our grandson has planted and is watching with anticipation for these seeds to mature into pumpkins. Great customer service and fast delivery.

S
06/05/2021
Selina

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't...

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't wait to plant it this summer!

S
06/05/2021
Selina

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't...

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't wait to plant it this summer!

Jack be Little Pumpkin Seeds

$2.59

Heirlooms Jack Be Little pumpkins are perfect for seasonal decorations. Miniature pumpkins grow three to four inches wide and two inches tall on vigorous, robust vines. Jack Be Little is an edible pumpkin, but they are most often used for decorations and miniature Jack-O’-Lanterns.

 

- Latin Name: Curcubita pepo
- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 85
- Planting Depth: 2 cm
- Plant Spacing: 90 cm
- Row Spacing: 1.5-2 m
- Growth Habit: Vine

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

Pumpkins are the quintessential, if unofficial, icon of autumn. Not only are they the embodiment of the fall, pumpkins are supremely nutritious and can be used in a number of ways. But to have a successful fall crop, vines and fruit must have long, hot seasons with space to spread out.

Sow seeds directly when soil temperatures reach 21°C. Pumpkins won’t tolerate cold. Pick a site with full sun and mix in plenty of compost ahead of planting. The bed should be of rich and well-drained soil, as pumpkins are heavy feeders. Seeds can be planted into small mounds, where the soil will stay warmer and drain well. Plant 4-5 seeds/mound 3 cm deep. Leave 1-2.5 m between mounds. With temperate soil, seeds should germinate in about a week.

When sprouts are 5-8 cm tall, thin to 2 or 3 vines per mound. Pumpkins will require a bit of water, at least 3 cm/week, and more when fruiting. Mulch around the plants to retain water and protect the shallow roots. Be careful not to harm roots when weeding or cultivating. Pruning and pinching the ends of vines are good strategies to concentrate energy into set fruit.

Choose a dry day to harvest. Pumpkins will store best when harvested fully mature. When fruit is deep orange and the skin is thick and firm, use a pair of clippers to cut the pumpkin from the vine. Leave a long stem to increase shelf life. Cure pumpkins for a couple weeks under the sun. After curing, store in a cool dry place, somewhere around 10°C.

Whether you want a canvas to carve spooky faces or bake homemade pies for Thanksgiving, make space for pumpkins in your home garden.

QUICK FACTS

- Native to North America, pumpkins are one of the oldest domesticated plants, having been cultivated as early as 7,500 BC.

- Pumpkin is a popular Halloween and Thanksgiving staple, and a traditional part of the fall harvest.

- Pumpkin seeds will remain viable for 4 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down. 

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2023 the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 5 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
5
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
S
17/08/2021
Susan

SS
14/06/2021
Susan S.

Our grandson has planted and is watching w...

Our grandson has planted and is watching with anticipation for these seeds to mature into pumpkins. Great customer service and fast delivery.

SS
14/06/2021
Susan S.

Our grandson has planted and is watching w...

Our grandson has planted and is watching with anticipation for these seeds to mature into pumpkins. Great customer service and fast delivery.

S
06/05/2021
Selina

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't...

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't wait to plant it this summer!

S
06/05/2021
Selina

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't...

It arrived quick and it looks great, can't wait to plant it this summer!