Graines de tomates roses Brandywine

$2.29

En 1987, une femme a envoyé un échantillon de graines de tomates Oxheart orange et jaune à la société Gleckler Seedmen à des fins d'essai. De manière inattendue, l'une des plantes a produit des tomates blanches, probablement en raison d'une mutation génétique naturelle. Ils ont décidé que c'était une variété si intéressante qu'ils l'ont stabilisée pendant quelques années, puis l'ont rendue publique au début des années 90. Depuis, il a régulièrement gagné en popularité pour ses excellentes caractéristiques.

Great White est la plus grande de toutes les variétés de tomates blanches à pollinisation libre. Elles atteignent une taille assez grande - souvent plus d'une livre - et les fruits blancs crémeux sont plus lisses que les tomates de type beefsteak ordinaires. La chair est charnue avec très peu de pépins et peu acide, ce qui lui donne une saveur presque fruitée, rappelant l'ananas et le melon. Les tomates Great White ont une bonne résistance à la sécheresse, à l'insolation et à la fissuration. Malheureusement, cette variété ne se conserve pas bien, alors utilisez-les tout de suite ou conservez-les à température ambiante pendant quatre à sept jours. Les tomates Great White sont un excellent ajout inhabituel aux sandwichs et aux salades, et un accroche-regard sur un plateau de légumes avec des trempettes. Ils font également une sauce tomate unique ou une salsa estivale.

 

- Cycle de vie : Annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 80
- Profondeur de plantation : 5 mm - 1 cm
- Espacement des plantes : 45-60 cm
- Espacement des rangées : 120 cm
- Type de croissance : Indéterminé

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Pour la plupart des gens, les tomates sont un fruit d'été indispensable. Il existe des dizaines de variétés patrimoniales présentant différentes formes, tailles, couleurs, saveurs et textures. Puisez dans cette large sélection lorsque vous démarrez à partir d'une graine. Vous avez la possibilité de faire pousser et de manger votre tomate parfaite !

Démarrez les graines à l'intérieur 6 à 8 semaines avant la date du dernier gel printanier. Dans des caissettes ou des pots individuels, plantez les graines à 1 cm. Assurez-vous que le sol reste chaud et humide. La température idéale pour la germination est de 21°C. Gardez les semis sous des lumières, à quelques centimètres du sommet des plantes et ajustez au besoin. Un ventilateur oscillant fournira aux jeunes plantes une certaine résistance. Cela se traduira par des tiges plus trapues et des plants de tomates plus structurellement sains. Les semis doivent être endurcis une semaine avant le repiquage.

Lorsque le sol est à 16 °C et que tout danger de gel est passé, il est temps de repiquer. Pincez tous les ensembles de feuilles inférieures qui sont jaunes ou fanées afin qu'une plus grande partie de la tige puisse être enterrée. Placez les racines profondément dans le trou jusqu'à ce que les feuilles du bas soient juste au-dessus de la surface du sol. Les racines jailliront de la tige et fourniront une base plus solide à la plante.

Fournir un site en plein soleil et un sol bien drainé. Bien arroser, environ 5 cm/semaine, pailler et nourrir toutes les deux semaines. Laisser les fruits sur la vigne mûrir le plus longtemps possible.

Il existe deux grandes catégories de plants de tomates : les plants déterminés et indéterminés.

Une tomate déterminée est une plante de type buisson, atteignant généralement environ trois à quatre pieds de haut, ce qui les rend idéales pour le jardinier de petit espace. Les fruits d'un plant de tomate déterminé mûrissent tous en même temps, ce qui est utile pour ceux qui veulent cultiver des tomates pour la mise en conserve.

Les tomates indéterminées poussent continuellement jusqu'au premier gel et peuvent atteindre six à vingt pieds de hauteur. Les plants indéterminés produisent des tomates tout au long de la saison pour une récolte continue.

Si des variétés indéterminées sont cultivées, assurez-vous de mettre en place de grands treillis ou des cages pour soutenir les vignes errantes. Un piquet solide et de la ficelle devraient suffire pour des variétés déterminées.

Les tomates peuvent facilement être congelées entières, mais ne jamais réfrigérer une tomate. Cela détériorera son goût et sa texture de jardin frais. Dégustez des produits frais tout au long de la saison et préparez plusieurs lots de sauce et de salsa à savourer tout au long de l'hiver.

FAITS EN BREF

- L'ancêtre de la tomate est originaire d'Amérique du Sud, où les versions sauvages ont la taille d'un pois. Les Espagnols ont introduit les tomates en Europe pour la première fois dans les années 1500.Des variétés uniques ont été développées au cours des centaines d'années suivantes pour améliorer la production, la taille, la forme, la couleur et la saveur

- Les graines de tomates resteront viables pendant 5 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2022, the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Great White Tomato Seeds

$2.29

Back in 1987, a woman sent a sample of orange and yellow Oxheart tomato seeds to the Gleckler Seedmen Company for trial purposes. Unexpectedly, one of the plants produced white tomatoes, probably due to a natural genetic mutation. They decided that it was such an interesting strain that they further stabilized it for a few years and then released it to the public in the early 90s. It has since steadily gained popularity for its great characteristics.

Great White is the largest of all open-pollinated white tomato varieties They grow to be quite large in size - often over one pound - and the creamy white fruits are smoother than regular beefsteak-type tomatoes. The flesh is meaty with very few seeds and has low-acidity, which gives it an almost fruity flavour, reminiscent of pineapple and melon. Great White tomatoes have a good resistance to droughts, sun scald and cracking. Unfortunately, this variety won’t preserve well, so use them right away or keep them at room temperature for four to seven days. Great White tomatoes are a great unusual addition to sandwiches and salads, and an eye-popper on a vegetable tray with dips. They also make for a unique tomato sauce or summery salsa.

 

- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 80
- Planting Depth: 5 mm - 1 cm
- Plant Spacing: 45-60 cm
- Row Spacing: 120 cm
- Growth Habit: Indeterminate

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

For most folks, tomatoes are an indispensable summer fruit. There are scores of heirloom varieties showcasing different shapes, sizes, colors, flavours and textures. Tap into this large selection when starting from seed. You have the ability to grow and eat your perfect tomato!

Start seeds indoors 6-8 weeks before the last spring frost date. In flats or individual pots, plant seeds at 1 cm. Make sure soil stays warm and moist. The ideal temperature for germination is 21°C. Keep seedlings under lights, a few centimeters away from the top of the plants and adjust as needed. An oscillating fan will provide the young plants some resistance. This will result in stockier stems and more structurally sound tomato plants. Seedlings should be hardened off a week prior to transplanting.

When the soil is 16°c and all danger of frost has passed it is time to transplant. Pinch off any sets of lower leaves that are yellow or faded so more of the stem can be buried. Place roots deeply into the hole to the point that the bottom leaves are just above the surface of the soil. Roots will sprout from the stalk and provide a stronger base for the plant.

Provide a site with full sun and well-drained soil. Water well, about 5cm/week, mulch and feed every two weeks. Leave fruits on the vine to ripen as long as possible.

There are two main categories of tomato plants: determinate and indeterminate.

A determinate tomato is a bush-type plant, usually reaching about three to four feet tall, making them ideal for the small-space gardener. The fruits of a determinate tomato plant ripen all at once, which is useful for those who want to grow tomatoes for canning.

Indeterminate tomatoes grow continuously until the first frost and can reach six to twenty feet in height. Indeterminate plants produce tomatoes all season long for a continuous harvest.

If indeterminate varieties are being grown, be sure to set up tall trellises or cages to support the wandering vines. One sturdy stake and some twine should suffice for determinate varieties.

Tomatoes can easily be frozen whole, but never refrigerate a tomato. This will deteriorate its fresh garden taste and texture. Enjoy fresh throughout the season and make multiple batches of sauce and salsa to savour through the winter.

QUICK FACTS

- The ancestor of the tomato is native to South America, where the wild versions are the size of peas. The Spanish first introduced tomatoes to Europe during the 1500s. Unique varieties were developed over the next several hundred years to improve production, size, shape, colour, and flavour.

- Tomato seeds will remain viable for 5 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2022, the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!