Semences de molucelle ''Bells of Ireland''

$2.29

Les cloches d'Irlande sont originaires de l'extrémité orientale de la région méditerranéenne et sont largement cultivées en Europe depuis les années 1500. Son association avec l'Irlande a probablement à voir avec la couleur et parce que c'est un symbole de bonne chance.

Cette plante annuelle pousse en longues tiges filandreuses qui atteignent 2 à 4 pieds de haut et portent une multitude de calices arrondis de 2'' avec des feuilles vert pâle. De minuscules fleurs blanches se trouvent à l'intérieur des « cloches » en forme d'entonnoir et elles sont agréablement parfumées, avec un parfum rappelant les pommes.

Les cloches d'Irlande se marient bien avec d'autres fleurs annuelles plus colorées, comme les zinnias et les coleus. Si les plantes ne sont pas taillées pour encourager une nouvelle croissance, les tiges épanouies deviennent beige pâle lorsqu'elles sèchent, ce qui lui donne un aspect intéressant. Bells of Ireland est un incontournable dans les arrangements de fleurs séchées et les bouquets coupés, et un ajout unique à votre jardin annuel.

 

- Nom latin : Moluccella laevis
- Cycle de vie : Annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 90-100
- Profondeur de plantation : 5 mm
- Espacement des plantes : 25-30 cm
- Habitude de croissance : 80-120 cm de hauteur

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Bells of Ireland est une annuelle populaire, affichant des tours de fleurs vertes en forme d'entonnoir, cloutées le long de tiges carrées. À l'intérieur des cloches se trouvent de minuscules fleurs blanches qui dégagent un arôme agréable. La plante cultivée depuis longtemps est une favorite pour son aspect distinct et sa longévité dans les arrangements. C'est un parent méditerranéen des herbes préférées comme la sauge, la cataire, le thym et la lavande.

Les graines peuvent prendre jusqu'à un mois pour germer et deux autres avant que les fleurs ne poussent et n'atteignent leur pleine maturité. Pour cette raison, les graines peuvent être semées à l'intérieur deux mois avant la date du dernier gel. Stratifiez vos graines une semaine à l'avance pour augmenter le taux de réussite de la germination en plaçant les graines entre des serviettes en papier humides et en les mettant au réfrigérateur. Après avoir stratifié les graines, plantez-les dans des pots de tourbe ou de coco biodégradables.

Les cloches d'Irlande développent rapidement une racine pivotante qui n'aime pas être dérangée. Laissez les graines découvertes, vaporisez bien et attendez patiemment la germination. Une fois qu'ils ont germé, placez-les dans un endroit lumineux comme une fenêtre ensoleillée ou sous des lumières. Assurez-vous qu'ils sont maintenus au chaud et humides et fournissez un tapis chauffant si possible. Donnez-leur le temps de grandir et de devenir forts avant de commencer le processus de durcissement. Gardez-les bien à l'intérieur jusqu'à ce que tout danger de gel soit écarté.

Un site en plein soleil permettra aux tiges de pousser hautes et fortes, sans tomber ni avoir besoin de soutien. Mélangez un peu de compost avant de planter comme engrais et pour vous assurer que le sol se draine bien. Dès le début, lors de l'établissement, assurez-vous que les semis sont bien arrosés. Une fois établis, assurez-vous qu'ils reçoivent environ 3 cm d'eau par semaine. À part le compost ajouté, les cloches d'Irlande ne devraient pas nécessiter d'alimentation.

Bells of Ireland sera tête de série à la fin de la saison. Récupérez quelques-unes des graines des têtes de fleurs qui sèchent ou laissez-les se réensemencer et attendez que les volontaires apparaissent au printemps prochain. Ceux-ci peuvent être déterrés facilement et déplacés. Les fleurs des cloches d'Irlande sèchent facilement et constituent un ajout intrigant aux arrangements.

Pendant la récolte, méfiez-vous des épines acérées qui poussent le long de la tige. Lorsque les cloches sont à moitié ouvertes, elles peuvent être coupées pour des compositions florales fraîches. Pour récolter des fleurs séchées, attendez qu'elles soient fermes au toucher. Les caractéristiques incomparables des cloches d'Irlande en font un plaisir à cultiver et à admirer dans le jardin et à exposer dans des bouquets.

FAITS EN BREF

- Les cloches d'Irlande (Molucella laevis) sont également connues sous le nom de cloches de Mulucca ou de coquillages.

- Les graines de Bells of Ireland resteront viables pendant 3 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

<tc>Notre garantie sur les semences</tc>

Vous savez qu'un jardin luxuriant et fructueux a besoin d'un bon sol, d'arrosages fréquents et du soleil pour pousser, mais ce sont les semences qui font vraiment la différence.

Cueillies et ensachées pour 2023, la grande majorité de nos semences ont des taux de germination de plus de 85 %. Toutes nos semences sont entièrement naturelles, sans OGM, non hybrides, non traitées et à pollinisation libre pour récolter les semences année après année.

Nos semences sont  soigneusement emballées dans des pochettes refermables, en papier kraft/aluminium de qualité alimentaire. Nos commandes sont ensuite expédiées dans des enveloppes rembourrées respectueuses de l'environnement.

Nous thermoscellons chacun de nos sachets de semences pour encore plus de protection contre l'humidité, les odeurs et la lumière, vous permettant de conserver vos semences jusqu'à 3 fois plus longtemps que dans du papier ou plastique. Plantez-les toutes, faites-en germer quelques-unes à l'intérieur, gardez-en pour la saison prochaine - à vous de décider !

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 5 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
5
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Customer Photos
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
JH
10/10/2022
Janet H.
Canada Canada

Thank you again for your speedy service. T...

Thank you again for your speedy service. These seeds are a challenge. But I persisted and yay. They sprouted.

Ecoseedbank Bells of Ireland Seeds Review
AM
31/08/2022
Allison M.
Canada Canada

Fast Shipper. Seller goes the extra mile.....

Fast Shipper. Seller goes the extra mile... and I very much appreciated the extra seeds that were included in my package at no extra cost.

CW
23/08/2022
Christine W.
Canada Canada

Mulino item purchase.Very fast delivery. N...

Mulino item purchase.Very fast delivery. Nicely packaged and labeled. Hopefully they'll germinate and grow. Thank you.

CW
23/08/2022
Christine W.
Canada

Mulino item purchase.Very fast delivery. N...

Mulino item purchase.Very fast delivery. Nicely packaged and labeled. Hopefully they'll germinate and grow. Thank you.

JH
10/08/2022
Janet H.
Canada

Seeds packaged very nicely, can't wait to...

Seeds packaged very nicely, can't wait to plant them. Thank you, I will be back for more seeds soon.

Bells of Ireland Seeds

$2.29

Bells of Ireland is originally native to the eastern end of the Mediterranean region and has been widely cultivated in Europe since the 1500s. Its association with Ireland probably has to do with the colour and because it is a symbol of good luck.

This annual plant grows into long, stringy stems that reach 2-4 feet tall and bear a multitude of 2’’ rounded calyxes with pale green leaves. Tiny white flowers are inside the funnel-shaped ‘’bells’’ and they are pleasingly fragrant, with a scent reminiscent of apples. 

Bells of Ireland pairs well with other more colourful annual flowers, such as zinnias and coleus. If the plants are not pruned to encourage new growth, the blooming stems turn a pale beige when they dry, giving it an interesting look. Bells of Ireland is a must-try in dried flower arrangements and cut bouquets, and a unique addition to your annual garden.

 

- Latin Name: Moluccella laevis
- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 90-100
- Planting Depth: 5 mm
- Plant Spacing: 25-30 cm
- Growth Habit: 80-120 cm tall

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

Bells of Ireland is a popular annual, displaying towers of green funnel-shaped flowers, studded along square stalks. Inside the bells are tiny white flowers that emit a pleasant aroma. The long-cultivated plant is a favourite for its distinct look and longevity in arrangements. It is a Mediterranean relative of favoured herbs like sage, catmint, thyme and lavender.

Seeds may take up to a month to germinate and two more before flowers grow and become fully mature. For this reason, seeds can be started indoors two months before the last frost date. Stratify your seeds a week beforehand to increase the germination success rate by placing seeds between moist paper towels and putting them in the refrigerator. After stratifying the seeds, plant them into biodegradable peat or coco pots.

Bells of Ireland quickly develop a taproot that doesn’t like being disturbed. Leave the seeds uncovered, mist well and wait patiently for germination. Once they sprout, get them to a bright spot like a sunny window or under lights. Make sure they're kept warm, moist and provide a heat mat if possible. Give them time to grow and become strong before starting the hardening off process. Keep them cozy inside until all danger of frost has passed.

A site with full sun will allow the stalks to grow tall and strong, without flopping over or needing support. Mix in some compost before planting as a fertilizer and to ensure that the soil will drain well. Early on, while getting established, make sure seedlings are well-watered. Once established, make sure they get about 3 cm of water per week. Other than the added compost, bells of Ireland shouldn’t require any feeding.

Bells of Ireland will go to seed at the end of the season. Collect some of the seeds from the drying flower heads or let it reseed and wait for the volunteers to pop up next spring. These can be dug up easily and relocated. Flowers from bells of Ireland dry easily and are an intriguing addition to arrangements.

While harvesting, beware the sharp spines that grow along the stalk. When bells are about half open, they can be cut for fresh flower arrangements. To harvest for dried flowers, wait until they are firm to the touch. The unmistakable features of bells of Ireland make them a joy to grow and admire in the garden and on display in bouquets. 

QUICK FACTS

- Bells of Ireland (Molucella laevis) are also known as Mulucca bells or shell flowers.

- Bells of Ireland seeds will remain viable for 3 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2023 the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!