Graines d'anis

$2.29

Cette annuelle à semis automatique est souvent cultivée dans les jardins familiaux pour attirer les pollinisateurs ou comme herbe en pot d'intérieur pour ajouter plus d'ingrédients frais à votre alimentation. Les plantes touffues atteignent environ un pied de haut et portent de belles fleurs bleu vif. Toutes les parties de la plante sont comestibles, sauf les racines.

La bourrache a une saveur douce et intéressante de concombre et peut être utilisée pour les thés et mélangée à des mélanges d'herbes séchées. Les fleurs bleues étoilées brillantes sont un ajout original et savoureux aux salades, apéritifs et cocktails d'été.


- Cycle de vie  : Annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 60-70
- Profondeur de plantation : 1 cm
- Espacement des plantes : 20-30 cm

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

La bourrache est souvent utilisée comme culture de couverture pour absorber et stocker les nutriments difficiles à atteindre, tout en assouplissant le sol. Les délicates fleurs bleues produites attirent de nombreux pollinisateurs. Ils sont rafraîchissants et nutritifs lorsqu'ils sont consommés. La bourrache attire des insectes parasites et prédateurs bénéfiques, comme les coccinelles et les chrysopes. Il est connu pour dissuader le sphinx de la tomate et la teigne du chou.

En tant qu'herbe annuelle, elle meurt en hiver, mais laisse tomber beaucoup de graines menant à une culture spontanée le printemps suivant. La bourrache fait tout cela et plus encore comme l'une des plantes compagnes les mieux documentées.

Les graines peuvent être semées directement ou démarrées à l'intérieur trois à quatre semaines avant la date du dernier gel. Plantez dans des appartements ou des pots, arrosez bien et fournissez-leur de la chaleur et de la lumière à partir d'une fenêtre ensoleillée ou faites pousser des lumières. Une fois que le danger de gel est passé et que le sol s'est réchauffé, endurcissez les semis pour les préparer au repiquage.

Semez directement les graines à environ 1 cm de profondeur dans le lit de jardin. Couvrir d'un paillis organique comme de la paille et bien arroser. Plantez beaucoup de graines et éclaircissez les semis à croissance lente, en laissant les plantes les plus fortes à 45 cm l'une de l'autre.

Un site en plein soleil produira les plantes les plus touffues avec le plus de fleurs. La bourrache survivra dans des conditions difficiles, comme un sol sec et pauvre en nutriments. Il prospérera, cependant, dans un sol humide et bien drainé.

Gardez les semis humides, mais laissez la bourrache sécher entre les arrosages après son établissement. Ajoutez du compost au moment de la plantation pour améliorer la qualité du sol. La bourrache ne nécessitera que des tétées légères si elle est cultivée dans un sol pauvre. Il peut s'adapter aux régions chaudes ou froides mais sera tué par un gel dur.

La bourrache doit être coupée pour maximiser la production de fleurs et peut être réduite de moitié au milieu de l'été pour stimuler une nouvelle croissance. Les graines peuvent être conservées en les secouant des fleurs fanées. Ou laissez la bourrache se propager d'elle-même en laissant tomber des graines pour produire des repousses pour le printemps prochain.

Les plants de bourrache se décomposent facilement et constituent un bon ajout aux tas de compost. Les feuilles peuvent être récoltées pour faire un thé de compost riche en nutriments en ajoutant simplement de l'eau. Lorsqu'elle est cultivée à partir de graines, cette plante intéressante peut être vraiment appréciée car ses fleurs bleues, son feuillage et ses racines profitent à l'ensemble de l'écosystème local.

FAITS EN BREF

- La bourrache, également connue sous le nom de « starflower », est originaire du Moyen-Orient et de la région méditerranéenne.

- Longtemps cultivée pour ses propriétés culinaires et médicinales, la bourrache est aujourd'hui principalement cultivée commercialement sous forme de graines oléagineuses.

- Les graines de bourrache resteront viables pendant 3 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2022, the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Borage Seeds

$3.29

This self-seeding annual is often grown in home gardens to attract pollinators or as an indoor potted herb to add more fresh ingredients to your diet. The bushy plants grow to about a foot tall and bear beautiful vivid blue flowers. All parts of the plant are edible, except the roots.

Borage has an interesting mild cucumber-like flavour and can be used for teas and mixed in dried herbal blends. The bright starry blue flowers are an original tasty addition to salads, appetizers and summer cocktails.

 

- Latin Name: Borago officinalis
- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 60-70
- Planting Depth: 1 cm
- Plant Spacing: 20-30 cm
- Growth Habit: 60-90 cm tall

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

Borage is often used as a cover crop to absorb and store hard-to-reach nutrients, while loosening up the soil. The dainty, blue flowers produced attract plenty of pollinators. They are refreshing and nutritious when eaten. Borage attracts beneficial parasitic and predatory insects, such as ladybugs and lacewings. It is known to deter tomato hornworm and cabbage moths.

As an annual herb, it will die off in winter, but drops plenty of seeds leading to a volunteer crop the following spring. Borage does all of this and more as one of the most well-documented companion plants.

Seeds can be sown directly or started indoors three to four weeks before the last frost date. Plant into flats or pots, water well and provide them with warmth and light from a sunny window or grow lights. After the danger of frost has passed and the soil has warmed up, harden off seedlings to prepare for transplanting.

Sow directly seeds about 1 cm deep into the garden bed. Cover with an organic mulch like straw and water well. Plant plenty of seeds and thin out slow-growing seedlings, leaving the strongest plants 45 cm apart.

A site with full sun will produce the bushiest plants with the most flowers. Borage will survive in harsh conditions, like dry and nutrient-deficient soil. It will thrive, however, in moist, well-drained soil. 

Keep seedlings moist, but allow borage to dry out in between waterings after it’s established. Add compost at the time of planting to improve the quality of the soil. Borage will only require light feedings if grown in poor soil. It can adapt to both hot or cold regions but will be killed by a hard frost.

Borage should be deadheaded to maximize blossom production and can be cut back by half in midsummer to stimulate new growth. Seeds can be saved by shaking them out of faded flowers. Or, let borage propagate on its own by dropping seeds to produce volunteers for next spring.

Borage plants break down easily and make a good addition to compost piles. Leaves can be harvested to make a nutrient-rich compost tea by just adding water. When grown from seed, this interesting plant can be truly appreciated as its blue flowers, foliage and roots all benefit the entire local ecosystem. 

QUICK FACTS

- Borage, also known as ‘’starflower,’’ is originally native to the Middle East and the Mediterranean region.

- Long cultivated for its culinary and medicinal properties, borage is now mostly grown commercially as oil seeds.

- Borage seeds will remain viable for 3 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2023 the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!