Graines de marguerite Alaska Shasta

$2.29

Cette magnifique fleur sauvage est originaire de l'ouest et du centre de l'Amérique du Nord, mais s'est naturalisée dans de nombreuses régions de l'est du Canada et des États-Unis. Rocky Mountain Bee Plant a une longue et riche histoire avec les Premières Nations à des fins médicinales et nutritionnelles et pour être utilisée comme teinture pour colorer les couvertures et la poterie d'une couleur jaune-vert. C'était l'une des nombreuses "nouvelles" espèces enregistrées lors de l'expédition de Lewis et Clark en 1804.

Rocky Mountain Bee Plant est une plante voyante qui pousse à environ 2 à 4 pieds et produit de grandes grappes de 4 pouces de fleurs roses et blanches remplies de nectar. La floraison peut se produire pendant une longue période, de la fin du printemps jusqu'au début de l'automne selon l'emplacement et l'altitude. Véritable aimant pour les abeilles, les colibris et autres pollinisateurs bénéfiques, la Rocky Mountain Bee Plant est souvent plantée autour des jardins pour améliorer considérablement la pollinisation. De plus, le parfum n'est pas des plus agréables, certaines personnes trouvent qu'il sent un peu la moufette, tout comme de nombreux rongeurs et animaux de pâturage qui seraient autrement tentés par votre jardin ! Véritable fleur sauvage unique en son genre, les fleurs remplies de nectar de Rocky Mountain Bee Plant peuvent également améliorer la santé de vos abeilles locales.

- Cycle de vie : Annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 65 
- Profondeur de plantation : 3-4 mm
- Espacement des plantes : 7-15 cm
- Habitude de croissance : 100 cm de haut

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Cette fleur sauvage unique est l'un des meilleurs ajouts à tout jardin de pollinisateurs. Les superbes fleurs violettes dépassent de la haute tige verticale, dissuadant les ravageurs et les bestioles, tout en attirant et en nourrissant les espèces de pollinisateurs indigènes.

Les graines peuvent être démarrées à l'intérieur, mais doivent d'abord passer par le processus de stratification. Placez les graines à la surface d'un sol humide dans des sacs en plastique et placez-les au réfrigérateur pendant deux semaines. Retirez les graines du réfrigérateur et plantez-les dans des appartements ou des pots six à huit semaines après la date du dernier gel. Déplacez les graines dans un endroit lumineux et chaud et placez-les sur un tapis chauffant pour augmenter le taux de réussite et accélérer le processus. Essayez de garder le sol à 21-25 degrés pour de meilleurs résultats. Endurcissez-les pour les repiquer une fois le danger de gel passé.

Semez directement à l'extérieur dans un lit de jardin bien travaillé au moment de la date de gel final. Plantez les graines, couvrez légèrement, tassez-les et gardez le lit humide. Elles devraient germer en 10 à 14 jours.

Maintenir un environnement humide et chaud pour les jeunes plantes. Plantez ou éclaircissez les semis à 15 cm de distance. Si elles sont laissées plus près, les hautes tiges, atteignant jusqu'à 150 cm, peuvent aider à se soutenir mutuellement. Abritez les plants d'abeilles des montagnes Rocheuses du vent et/ou utilisez des piquets ou des treillis comme support.

Les abeilles des montagnes Rocheuses préfèrent le plein soleil. Ils s'adaptent rapidement aux sols équitables et ne nécessitent pas d'engrais. La matière organique ou le compost incorporé dans le sol aidera les plantes en développement à s'établir. C'est une plante qui nécessite très peu d'entretien une fois établie et qui tolère bien les conditions de sécheresse.

Les fleurs culmineront en juillet et en août. Les plantes meurent complètement au premier gel et laissent tomber des graines qui germeront au printemps. Les générations futures se naturalisent rapidement, au grand plaisir de la faune indigène. Les plantes d'abeilles des montagnes Rocheuses amélioreront considérablement l'activité et la santé de votre population locale de pollinisateurs. Cultivez une partie de cette fleur sauvage indigène unique en son genre pour inviter les abeilles estivales occupées et alimenter les papillons et les colibris pour leur longue migration vers le sud.

FAITS EN BREF

- Les jeunes pousses et les feuilles tendres sont de bonnes sources de vitamine A et de calcium.

- Les graines de Rocky Mountain Bee Plant resteront viables pendant 3 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2022, the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Rocky Mountain Bee Plant Seeds

$2.29

This stunning wildflower is originally native to western and central North America but has naturalized in many parts of eastern Canada and the USA. Rocky Mountain Bee Plant has a long and rich history with First Nations for medicinal and nutritional purposes and for use as a dye for colouring blankets and pottery a yellow-green colour. It was amongst the many ‘’new’’ species that were recorded during the Lewis and Clark expedition in 1804.

Rocky Mountain Bee Plant is a showy plant that grows to about 2-4 feet and produces large 4-inch clusters of nectar-filled pinkish and white flowers.  Blooming can occur for a long time, from late spring until early fall depending on the location and elevation.  A true magnet to bees, hummingbirds and other beneficial pollinators, Rocky Mountain Bee Plant is often planted around gardens to drastically improve pollination. Also, the fragrance is not the most pleasant, some people find it smells a bit skunk-like, and so do many rodents and grazing animals that would otherwise be tempted by your garden! A true one-of-a-kind wildflower, Rocky Mountain Bee Plant’s nectar-filled flowers can also improve the health of your local bees. 

 

- Latin Name: Cleome serrulata
- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 65 
- Planting Depth: 3-4 mm
- Plant Spacing: 7-15 cm
- Growth Habit:  100 cm tall

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

This unique wildflower is one of the best additions to any pollinator garden. The stunning purple flowers protrude from the tall upright stalk, deterring pests and critters, while attracting and nourishing native pollinator species.

Seeds can be started inside, but must first go through the process of stratification. Set seeds on the surface of moist soil inside plastic bags and place them in the refrigerator for two weeks. Remove the seeds from the fridge and plant into flats or pots six to eight weeks out from the last frost date. Move the seeds to a bright, warm location and place them on a heating mat to increase the success rate and speed up the process. Try to keep soil at 21-25 degrees for the best results. Harden them off for transplanting after the danger of frost has passed.

Sow directly outdoors into a well-worked garden bed around the time of the final frost date. Plant seeds, cover lightly, tamp them in and keep the bed moist. They should germinate in 10-14 days.

Maintain a wet and warm environment for young plants. Plant or thin seedlings to 15 cm apart. If left closer, the tall stalks, reaching up to 150 cm, may help support each other. Shelter rocky mountain bee plants from the wind and/or use stakes or trellises for support.

Rocky mountain bee plants prefer full sun. They adapt quickly to fair soil and don’t require fertilizer. Organic matter or compost incorporated into the soil will help developing plants get established. It is a very low maintenance plant once established and tolerates drought conditions well.

Flowers will peak in July and August. Plants die back completely at the first frost and drop seeds that will sprout in the spring. Future generations naturalize quickly, much to the appreciation of native wildlife. Rocky mountain bee plants will dramatically improve the activity and health of your local pollinator population. Grow some of this one of-a-kind native wildflower to invite busy summer bees and fuel up butterflies and hummingbirds for their long migration south. 

QUICK FACTS

- The young, tender shoots and leaves are good sources of vitamin A and calcium.  

- Rocky Mountain Bee Plant seeds will remain viable for 3 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2023 the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!