Semences de cosmos ''Bright Lights''

$2.29

Cosmos Bright Lights est une fleur indulgente et facile à cultiver qui ne manquera pas d'ajouter des couleurs vives à votre jardin du milieu de l'été jusqu'aux premières gelées d'automne. Bright Lights Cosmos pousse mieux en plein soleil, tolère les sols pauvres et les courants d'air. En fait, un peu de négligence est la clé avec Cosmos, une plante vraiment tolérante !

Bright Lights est une annuelle qui atteint 2 à 3 pieds de haut avec de splendides fleurs semi-doubles au-dessus d'un feuillage ressemblant à une fougère. Les fleurs aérées et soyeuses atteignent environ 3 pouces de diamètre et présentent une gamme de couleurs vives, allant de la mandarine au jaune, en passant par l'or, l'orange et l'écarlate. Avec leurs longues tiges, leur feuillage intéressant et leurs magnifiques fleurs, les Cosmos Bright Lights font de magnifiques bouquets de fleurs coupées. Essayez de saupoudrer quelques pétales sur une salade ou un dessert pour ajouter une touche unique.

 

- Nom latin : Cosmos sulphureus
- Cycle de vie : Annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 50-65
- Profondeur de plantation : pressez légèrement 4-5 graines dans le sol
- Espacement des plantes : 25-35 cm
- Habitude de croissance : 30-45 cm de hauteur

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Ces annuelles faciles à cultiver sont une fleur de jardin populaire pour de nombreuses raisons. D'apparence marguerite, le cosmos fleurit rapidement, attire les abeilles, les papillons et les oiseaux et fleurit tout l'automne. Disponibles dans une variété de couleurs attrayantes, les fleurs fleurissent librement sur de hautes tiges fines.

Les graines peuvent être semées à l'intérieur quatre à six semaines avant le dernier gel. A planter en caissettes ou en pots individuels. La germination devrait avoir lieu dans 7 à 21 jours. Lorsque les semis atteignent 10-12 cm, repiquez dans des pots plus grands ou préparez-les à sortir. Lorsque tout danger de gel est passé, le jeune cosmos peut être progressivement endurci pour se préparer à être transplanté dans le jardin.

Préparez le lit de jardin en ameublant le sol à 20 cm de profondeur. Les graines peuvent être espacées à la distance recommandée, ou semées librement et éclaircies au fur et à mesure qu'elles germent et grandissent. Recouvrir légèrement les graines de terre et bien arroser. Choisissez un site qui reçoit le plein soleil 

Natif du Mexique et d'Amérique centrale, le cosmos s'épanouira dans une chaleur extrême avec autant de soleil que possible. Ces fleurs qui aiment la chaleur préfèrent les sols pauvres aux sols ordinaires, à condition qu'ils soient bien drainés. Planter dans un sol riche en nutriments pourrait faire pousser trop de feuillage au lieu de fleurir, ou ils pourraient devenir trop grands et tomber. Si cela se produit, plantez des plantes hautes ou faites-les pousser les unes à côté des autres pour les soutenir.

Lorsque les cosmos sont établis, ils n'auront besoin d'être arrosés que s'il y a des conditions de sécheresse extrême. Si l'approvisionnement en eau est limité, le cosmos survivra le plus longtemps sans irrigation. L'engrais n'est pas recommandé pour le cosmos. L'alimentation peut entraîner une croissance excessive du feuillage et un retard de floraison. Les Cosmos sont beaux, mais durables et nécessitent très peu d'entretien. Ils poussent sans trop d'attention, s'auto-sèment et n'attirent pas beaucoup de parasites problématiques. S'il y a suffisamment d'espace entre les plantations, une circulation d'air adéquate aidera à prévenir les maladies.

Le seul entretien dont le cosmos a vraiment besoin est le deadheading. Cela prolongera leur fenêtre de floraison et conduira à une floraison plus abondante dans l'ensemble. Si les plantes semblent devenir incontrôlables, elles peuvent être cisaillées d'environ un tiers lorsque la plupart des fleurs sont fanées. Cette taille rajeunira la plante et conduira à une seconde croissance du feuillage et des fleurs. En fin de saison, le cosmos peut être coupé au sol ou arraché par les racines. Ou laissez les plantes en place si vous souhaitez qu'elles s'auto-ensemencent. Les cosmos fleurissent généralement en 50 à 60 jours et sont parfaits pour les fleurs coupées, ajoutant de l'élégance et de la couleur aux bouquets.

FAITS EN BREF

- La fleur tire son nom du mot grec "Cosmos", qui signifie harmonie ou univers équilibré.

- Les graines de Cosmos resteront viables pendant 2 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

<tc>Notre garantie sur les semences</tc>

Vous savez qu'un jardin luxuriant et fructueux a besoin d'un bon sol, d'arrosages fréquents et du soleil pour pousser, mais ce sont les semences qui font vraiment la différence.

Cueillies et ensachées pour 2023, la grande majorité de nos semences ont des taux de germination de plus de 85 %. Toutes nos semences sont entièrement naturelles, sans OGM, non hybrides, non traitées et à pollinisation libre pour récolter les semences année après année.

Nos semences sont  soigneusement emballées dans des pochettes refermables, en papier kraft/aluminium de qualité alimentaire. Nos commandes sont ensuite expédiées dans des enveloppes rembourrées respectueuses de l'environnement.

Nous thermoscellons chacun de nos sachets de semences pour encore plus de protection contre l'humidité, les odeurs et la lumière, vous permettant de conserver vos semences jusqu'à 3 fois plus longtemps que dans du papier ou plastique. Plantez-les toutes, faites-en germer quelques-unes à l'intérieur, gardez-en pour la saison prochaine - à vous de décider !

Customer Reviews
4.5 Based on 2 Reviews
5 ★
50% 
1
4 ★
50% 
1
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
KL
24/08/2022
Karly L.
Canada Canada

These cosmos have bloomed so beautifully a...

These cosmos have bloomed so beautifully and I have already harvested a bunch to press for eco print the color is gorgeous !

CD
31/07/2022
Carrie D.
Canada Canada

Planted a bit late but already sprouted ....

Planted a bit late but already sprouted . Cant wait to see them in bloom

Bright Lights Cosmos Seeds

$2.29

Cosmos Bright Lights is an easy-to-grow, forgiving flower that is sure to add vivid colours to your garden from mid-summer until the first fall frosts. Bright Lights Cosmos grows best in full sun, tolerate poor soils and draught. As a matter of fact, a little neglect is key with Cosmos, a truly tolerant plant!

Bright Lights is an annual that grows to 2-3 feet tall with splendid semi-double flowers above fern-like foliage. The airy, silky blooms reach about 3 inches across and show an array of vibrant colours, ranging from tangerine to yellow, gold, orange and scarlet. With their long stems, interesting looking foliage and magnificent blooms, Cosmos Bright Lights make beautiful cut flowers bouquets. Try sprinkling some petals on a salad or a dessert to add a unique touch.

 

- Latin Name: Cosmos sulphureus
- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 50-65
- Planting Depth: lightly press 4-5 seeds into soil
- Plant Spacing: 25-35 cm
- Growth Habit: 30-45 cm tall

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

These easy-to-grow annuals are a popular garden flower for many reasons. Daisy-like in appearance, cosmos bloom quickly, attract bees, butterflies and birds and bloom through the fall. Coming in a variety of appealing colours, the blooms freely flower on top of tall, thin stems.

Seeds can be started indoors four to six weeks before the last frost. Plant in flats or individual pots. Germination should occur in 7-21 days. When seedlings reach 10-12 cm, transplant to larger pots or get them ready to move outside. When all danger of frost has passed, young cosmos can be gradually hardened off to prepare for transplanting into the garden.

Prepare the garden bed by loosening the soil 20 cm deep. Seeds can be spaced to recommended distance, or sown freely and thinned as they sprout and grow. Cover seeds lightly with soil and water well. Choose a site that receives full sun 

Native to Mexico and Central America, cosmos will thrive in extreme heat with as much sunshine as possible. These heat-loving flowers prefer poor to ordinary soil, as long as it is well-drained. Planting in nutrient-rich soil could cause the plant to grow too much foliage instead of flowering, or they may get too tall and fall over. If this happens, stake tall plants or grow them close to each other for support.

When cosmos are established, they will only need to be watered if there are extreme drought conditions. If water supply is limited, cosmos will survive the longest without irrigation. Fertilizer is not recommended for cosmos. Feeding may lead to excessive foliage growth and stunted blooming. Cosmos are beautiful, yet durable, and very low-maintenance. They grow without much attention, will self-sow and don’t attract many problematic pests. If provided enough space in between plantings, proper airflow will help prevent diseases.

The only upkeep that cosmos really require is deadheading. This will prolong their blooming window and lead to more abundant flowering overall. If the plants seem to be getting out of control, they can be sheared back by about a third when most of the flowers have faded. This pruning will rejuvenate the plant and lead to a second growth of foliage and flowers. At the end of the season, cosmos can be cut to the ground or pulled out by the roots. Or, leave the plants in place if you’d like them to self seed. Cosmos usually bloom in 50-60 days and are perfect for cut flowers, adding elegance and colour to bouquets.  

QUICK FACTS

- The flower is named after the Greek word ‘’Cosmos,’’ meaning harmony or balanced universe.

- Cosmos seeds will remain viable for 2 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2023 the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Customer Reviews
4.5 Based on 2 Reviews
5 ★
50% 
1
4 ★
50% 
1
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
KL
24/08/2022
Karly L.
Canada Canada

These cosmos have bloomed so beautifully a...

These cosmos have bloomed so beautifully and I have already harvested a bunch to press for eco print the color is gorgeous !

CD
31/07/2022
Carrie D.
Canada Canada

Planted a bit late but already sprouted ....

Planted a bit late but already sprouted . Cant wait to see them in bloom