Semences de gypsophile ''Covent Garden''

$2.29

Baby's Breath est à l'origine une fleur sauvage d'Europe, d'Afrique et d'Asie qui est devenue particulièrement populaire dans les arrangements floraux à l'époque victorienne. La gypsophile de Covent Garden a été introduite en 1936 par la Grand Junction Seed Company du Colorado.

Annuelle à croissance rapide, Covent Garden est souvent ajoutée aux compositions florales fraîches et séchées et utilisée dans le jardin comme agent de remplissage. Les plantes fleuriront de fin juin jusqu'au gel avec un minimum de soins. Les plantes à plusieurs tiges produisent des nuages ​​​​de jolies petites fleurs blanches d'un demi-pouce de large sur des plantes atteignant 1 à 2 pieds de hauteur.

La gypsophile est résistante à la chaleur et à la sécheresse, mais elle préfère les sols riches en calcium, car on la trouve souvent à l'état sauvage sur les dépôts de gypse. Semez toutes les deux à trois semaines pour une récolte continue pour faire des cadeaux tout l'été. Covent Garden est adoré des papillons et se marie à merveille avec les boutons de célibataire dans le jardin.

 

- Nom latin : Gypsophila elegans
- Cycle de vie : Annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 75-90
- Profondeur de plantation : Appuyez légèrement sur 4 à 5 graines dans le sol ou diffusez directement
- Espacement des plantes : 45 cm
- Habitude de croissance : 30-45 cm de hauteur

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Communément connue sous le nom de gypsophile, la gypsophile est répandue dans les arrangements floraux et les grappes de minuscules fleurs blanches sont tout aussi belles sur un parterre de jardin. Au plus fort de l'été, leurs bouquets fleurissent pendant plusieurs semaines tout en attirant les papillons et autres insectes bénéfiques.

Les graines peuvent être semées à l'intérieur six à huit semaines avant la date du dernier gel. Plantez les graines dans des bacs ou des pots individuels et recouvrez très légèrement de terre. Gardez le sol humide et chaud. Utilisez un tapis chauffant si vous en avez un. Dans ces conditions, les graines peuvent apparaître en aussi peu que 10 jours. Continuez à donner aux semis de la chaleur, de l'humidité et de la lumière vive. Lorsqu'ils ont développé deux ensembles de vraies feuilles, ils peuvent être éclaircis. Une fois que le danger de gel est passé, sortez-les pour commencer le processus de durcissement. Manipulez les greffes avec précaution, car elles sont sujettes aux chocs.

La gypsophile peut également être semée directement à l'extérieur. Labourez profondément votre lit de jardin, enlevez tous les débris et décomposez les touffes restantes. Ajoutez du compost pour améliorer la fertilité et la rétention d'eau du sol. Après le dernier gel, semez les graines à environ 20 cm de distance. Couvrir légèrement avec de la terre fine et des graines fermes en place. Arrosez le lit et gardez-le humide.

Soyez vigilant sur les mauvaises herbes pendant que les semis s'établissent. Éclaircissez les semis encombrés et ajoutez une fine couche de paillis lorsqu'ils sont assez grands. Donner une alimentation faible lorsque les semis ont environ quatre semaines.

La gypsophile aime le plein soleil, mais profite de l'ombre de l'après-midi pendant les mois chauds. Le souffle de bébé n'est pas pointilleux sur son type de sol, tant qu'il est bien drainé. Le sol des jeunes plantes doit être maintenu humide, mais les plantes établies n'auront besoin d'eau que pendant de longues périodes de sécheresse. L'haleine de bébé ne se nourrit pas abondamment, un compost initial fertilisant et supplémentaire prendra soin de ses besoins en nutriments.

Cette plante a peu de problèmes de parasites et de maladies et est globalement une fleur nécessitant très peu d'entretien. Les plantes matures peuvent nécessiter un tuteurage pour soutenir les tiges minces. Taillez légèrement les plantes après la floraison pour obtenir une forme plus touffue et espérer une seconde floraison.

La gypsophile est à couper le souffle dans le jardin et est la fleur de remplissage par excellence, ajoutant une touche tendre aux arrangements et aux bouquets.

FAITS EN BREF

- Le nom Baby's Breath fait référence à la fleur souvent offerte en cadeau de baby shower. Plus récemment, la gypsophile est devenue populaire dans les bouquets fraîchement coupés et les arrangements floraux de mariage.

Les graines de gypsophile resteront viables pendant 2 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

<tc>Notre garantie sur les semences</tc>

Vous savez qu'un jardin luxuriant et fructueux a besoin d'un bon sol, d'arrosages fréquents et du soleil pour pousser, mais ce sont les semences qui font vraiment la différence.

Cueillies et ensachées pour 2023, la grande majorité de nos semences ont des taux de germination de plus de 85 %. Toutes nos semences sont entièrement naturelles, sans OGM, non hybrides, non traitées et à pollinisation libre pour récolter les semences année après année.

Nos semences sont  soigneusement emballées dans des pochettes refermables, en papier kraft/aluminium de qualité alimentaire. Nos commandes sont ensuite expédiées dans des enveloppes rembourrées respectueuses de l'environnement.

Nous thermoscellons chacun de nos sachets de semences pour encore plus de protection contre l'humidité, les odeurs et la lumière, vous permettant de conserver vos semences jusqu'à 3 fois plus longtemps que dans du papier ou plastique. Plantez-les toutes, faites-en germer quelques-unes à l'intérieur, gardez-en pour la saison prochaine - à vous de décider !

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 7 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
7
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
EM
27/10/2022
Ekaterina M.
Canada Canada

Beautifully and safely packaged and very f...

Beautifully and safely packaged and very fast shipping! Good product from the seller.

C
14/07/2022
Cynthia

Great quality and arrived on time as alway...

Great quality and arrived on time as always :) thank you

HB
16/06/2022
Hobabie B.

Haven't had a chance to plant my seeds yet...

Haven't had a chance to plant my seeds yet but appreciated the quick delivery and thoughtful bonus of basil seeds. Thank you as well for the discount!

A
10/05/2022
Alli

Great germination rate! Very fast shipping...

Great germination rate! Very fast shipping, I'm always happy to buy from this shop.

JD
05/08/2021
Jane D.

Covent Garden Gypsophila Seeds

$2.29

Baby’s Breath is originally a wildflower from Europe, Africa and Asia that became especially popular in floral arrangements during Victorian times. Covent Garden gypsophila was introduced in 1936 by the Grand Junction Seed Company of Colorado.

A fast-growing annual, Covent Garden is often added to fresh and dried flower arrangements and used in the garden as a filler. The plants will blossom from late June until frost with minimal care. The multi-stemmed plants produce clouds of cute little white flowers half an inch wide on plants that reach 1 to 2 feet in height.

Baby’s Breath is heat and drought resistant, but it prefers calcium-rich soil, as it is often found growing wild on gypsum deposits. Sow every two to three weeks for a continuous harvest to make gifts all summer. Covent Garden is beloved by butterflies and pairs beautifully with Bachelor’s Buttons in the garden.  

 

- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 75-90
- Canada Hardiness Zone: 4-9
- Planting Depth: Lightly press 4-5 seeds into soil or broadcast directly
- Plant Spacing: 45 cm
- Growth Habit: 30-45 cm tall

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

Commonly known as baby’s breath, Gypsophila is prevalent in floral arrangements and the clusters of tiny white flowers look just as good gracing a garden bed. During the peak of summer, their bunches of blossoms bloom for several weeks while attracting butterflies and other beneficial insects.

Seeds can be started indoors six to eight weeks before the last frost date. Plant seeds in flats or individual pots and cover very lightly with soil. Keep the soil moist and warm. Use a heating mat if one is available. Under these conditions, seeds can pop up in as little as 10 days. Continue giving seedlings warmth, moisture and bright light. When they have developed two sets of true leaves, they can be thinned. Once the danger of frost has passed, move them outside to begin the hardening off process. Handle transplants carefully, as they are prone to shock.

Gypsophila can also be sown directly outdoors. Till your garden bed deeply, remove any debris and break down leftover clumps. Add in some compost to improve the fertility and water retention of the soil. After the last frost has passed, sow seeds thinly about 20 cm apart. Cover lightly with fine soil and firm seeds into place. Water the bed and keep it moist.

Be vigilant about weeds while seedlings are getting established. Thin crowded seedlings and add a thin layer of mulch when they’re tall enough. Give a weak feeding when seedlings are about four weeks old.

Gypsophila like full sun, but benefit from afternoon shade in the hot months. Baby’s breath is not picky about its soil type, as long as it’s well-drained. The soil of young plants should be kept moist, but established plants will only need water in long periods of drought. Baby’s breath doesn’t feed heavily, an initial fertilizing and supplemental compost will take care of its nutrient needs.

This plant has few issues with pests and disease and is overall a very low maintenance flower. Mature plants may require staking to give support to the thin stems. Give plants a light pruning after flowering to achieve a bushier shape and hope for a second bloom.

Gypsophila looks breathtaking in the garden and is the quintessential filler flower, adding a tender touch to arrangements and bouquets. 

QUICK FACTS

- The name Baby’s Breath refers to the flower often being given as a baby shower gift. More recently, gypsophila became popular in fresh-cut bouquets and wedding floral arrangements.

Gypsophila seeds will remain viable for 2 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2022, the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 5 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
5
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
HB
16/06/2022
Hobabie B.

Haven't had a chance to plant my seeds yet...

Haven't had a chance to plant my seeds yet but appreciated the quick delivery and thoughtful bonus of basil seeds. Thank you as well for the discount!

A
10/05/2022
Alli

Great germination rate! Very fast shipping...

Great germination rate! Very fast shipping, I'm always happy to buy from this shop.

JD
05/08/2021
Jane D.

D?
16/05/2021
Demoiselle ?.

Super quick shipping and very carefully pa...

Super quick shipping and very carefully packaged! Will order next year for my garden for sure!

D?
16/05/2021
Demoiselle ?.

Super quick shipping and very carefully pa...

Super quick shipping and very carefully packaged! Will order next year for my garden for sure!