Semences de coquelicot ''California Mix''

$2.29

Fleur officielle de l'État de Californie depuis 1903, ce coquelicot est utilisé depuis longtemps comme médicament traditionnel par les Premières Nations. C'était le premier coquelicot à être remarqué lors de l'expédition Lewis et Clark de 1816, et son nom latin « Eschscholzia » vient d'un botaniste allemand qui faisait partie du voyage d'exploration.

Les plantes ne mesurent que 12 à 18 pouces de haut et portent une gamme colorée de fleurs, allant du rouge à l'orange, en passant par le jaune, le blanc et le rose. Parce qu'ils sont très faciles à cultiver et demandent peu, les coquelicots de Californie sont une excellente option pour les jardiniers débutants. Habituellement cultivé comme une annuelle au Canada, il peut hiverner si vous faites partie des quelques chanceux de la Colombie-Britannique qui se trouvent dans les zones 8 et 9. Les coquelicots de Californie prospèrent en plein soleil ou à mi-ombre et s'adaptent aux sols pauvres. Une excellente option à planter dans les bordures, les allées et les prairies, les coquelicots de Californie font également des bouquets coupés enflammés.

 

- Nom latin : Eschscholzia californica
- Cycle de vie : Annuel
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 60-75
- Profondeur de plantation : 2-3 graines de 5 mm de profondeur ou diffusées directement
- Espacement des plantes : 15 cm
- Habitude de croissance : 30-45 cm de hauteur

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Cette fleur sauvage annuelle commune est capable de produire de superbes fleurs colorées. Les coquelicots fleurissent généralement de la fin du printemps au début de l'été. Ils ne nécessitent pratiquement aucun entretien une fois établis et s'acclimateront à presque tous les climats au cours de quelques saisons.

Le moyen le plus simple de propager des coquelicots est de les laisser faire le travail ! Les coquelicots s'auto-ensemencent librement d'une saison à l'autre et finiront par se naturaliser dans la région où ils poussent. Mais pour démarrer une nouvelle culture, semer directement dans le jardin est la meilleure option.

La transplantation de coquelicots est une tâche difficile et n'est pas recommandée. Pourtant, c'est possible si les bonnes précautions sont prises. Les coquelicots germent assez facilement, mais développent rapidement une racine pivotante centrale qui n'aime pas être perturbée. En plantant des graines dans des pots de tourbe ou de coco biodégradables, ce problème peut être évité.

Quatre à six semaines avant la date du dernier gel, plantez deux ou trois graines par pot et recouvrez légèrement de terre. Vaporiser et couvrir d'une pellicule de plastique pour conserver la chaleur et l'humidité. Les pots peuvent être placés sur un tapis chauffant et les semis devraient apparaître dans environ deux semaines. Retirez le plastique lorsque la germination est apparente. Lorsque les semis mesurent environ 5 cm de hauteur, éclaircir en une seule pousse. Fournit une lumière vive et filtrée pour les semis. Acclimatez progressivement les jeunes coquelicots à l'extérieur en les endurcissant. Préparez le lit de jardin et creusez des trous de plantation (espacés de 30 à 45 cm) suffisamment grands pour accueillir tout le pot. Plantez les coquelicots, remblayer avec de la terre et bien arroser.

Le site de plantation doit être en plein soleil pour favoriser une forte croissance et une floraison abondante. Si le site est bien drainé, les coquelicots peuvent s'adapter à de nombreux types de sols. Ils survivront et pousseront même dans un sol pauvre, mais pour obtenir des résultats exceptionnels, l'ajout d'un peu de matière organique ira un long chemin.

Les coquelicots établis ont besoin de peu d'eau pour prospérer. Trop d'eau peut rapidement conduire à des tiges longues et faibles. Vos tâches d'arrosage seront probablement prises en charge par mère nature si vous recevez des précipitations régulières. La tête morte des fleurs fanées prolongera la fenêtre de floraison. Les fleurs de pavot ne tolèrent pas le gel, mais leurs graines résisteront aux hivers froids et germeront de manière fiable au printemps prochain.

FAITS EN BREF

- Le pavot de Californie pousse pleinement à haute altitude, à environ 2 500 m.

- Véritables fleurs sauvages nord-américaines, les coquelicots de Californie sont bien sûr originaires de l'état ensoleillé, mais on les trouve également dans de vastes régions de l'État de Washington, de l'Oregon, de l'Arizona, du Nevada, du Nouveau-Mexique, de la Basse-Californie et de Sonora.

- Au cours des années 1800, les coquelicots de Californie se sont propagés à l'état sauvage via des cargos au Chili, en Australie et dans d'autres parties du monde aux climats similaires.

- Les graines de pavot resteront viables pendant 4 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

.

<tc>Notre garantie sur les semences</tc>

Vous savez qu'un jardin luxuriant et fructueux a besoin d'un bon sol, d'arrosages fréquents et du soleil pour pousser, mais ce sont les semences qui font vraiment la différence.

Cueillies et ensachées pour 2023, la grande majorité de nos semences ont des taux de germination de plus de 85 %. Toutes nos semences sont entièrement naturelles, sans OGM, non hybrides, non traitées et à pollinisation libre pour récolter les semences année après année.

Nos semences sont  soigneusement emballées dans des pochettes refermables, en papier kraft/aluminium de qualité alimentaire. Nos commandes sont ensuite expédiées dans des enveloppes rembourrées respectueuses de l'environnement.

Nous thermoscellons chacun de nos sachets de semences pour encore plus de protection contre l'humidité, les odeurs et la lumière, vous permettant de conserver vos semences jusqu'à 3 fois plus longtemps que dans du papier ou plastique. Plantez-les toutes, faites-en germer quelques-unes à l'intérieur, gardez-en pour la saison prochaine - à vous de décider !

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 5 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
5
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
LP
07/09/2022
Lea P.
Canada Canada

I will not be planting these until spring...

I will not be planting these until spring so I cannot provide a review about how many seeds actually produce flowers. What I can tell you is that the packaging is phenomenal, seller is well educated in the subject matter and I have very high hopes for success with planting next year. Shipping was prompt, everything is wonderfully packaged and the information provided on the Etsy pages or on their website is top notch. The free seeds that were generously added to my order were very much appreciated too! This seller has quickly become a favorite because of their very reasonable prices and phenomenal packaging! Highly recommend on those points alone.

LP
26/08/2022
Lea P.
Canada Canada

I will not be planting these until spring...

I will not be planting these until spring so I cannot provide a review about how many seeds actually produce flowers. What I can tell you is that the packaging is phenomenal, seller is well educated in the subject matter and I have very high hopes for success with planting next year. Shipping was prompt, everything is wonderfully packaged and the information provided on the Etsy pages or on their website is top notch. The free seeds that were generously added to my order were very much appreciated too! This seller has quickly become a favorite because of their very reasonable prices and phenomenal packaging! Highly recommend on those points alone.

CW
25/08/2022
Carla W.
Canada Canada

Always great quality seed, nice packaging...

Always great quality seed, nice packaging and quick shipping

FP
13/08/2022
Frances P.
Canada Canada

I gave a 5 star rating with the hopes that...

I gave a 5 star rating with the hopes that when I plant the seeds this fall for next year, they will be as beautiful as the picture. Many seeds, fingers crossed :)

KC
15/07/2022
Karen C.

My item exceeded my expectations

My item exceeded my expectations

California Mix Poppy Seeds

$2.29

The official state flower of California since 1903, this poppy has long been used as traditional medicine by the First Nations. It was the first poppy to be noticed during the 1816 Lewis and Clark expedition, and its Latin name ‘’Eschscholzia,’’ comes from a German botanist who was part of the exploration journey.

The plants grow to only 12-18’’ tall and bear a colourful array of blooms, ranging from red to orange, to yellow, white and pink. Because they are very easy to grow and demand little, California poppies are a great option for beginner gardeners. Usually grown as an annual in Canada, it may over-winter in you are part of the lucky few in BC that are in zones 8 and 9. California poppies will thrive in full sun or partial shade and are adaptable to poor soils. An excellent option to plant in borders, walkways and meadows, California poppies also make fiery cut bouquets.


- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 60-75
- Planting Depth: 2-3 seeds 5 mm deep or broadcast directly
- Plant Spacing: 15 cm
- Growth Habit: 30-45 cm tall

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

This common annual wildflower is capable of producing stunning, colourful blossoms. Poppies typically bloom from late spring to early summer. They hardly require any maintenance once established and will acclimate to almost any climate over the course of a few seasons.

The easiest way to propagate poppies is to let them do the work! Poppies freely self-seed from one season to the next and will eventually become naturalized to the area in which they grow. But to get a new crop started, sowing directly into the garden is the best option.

Transplanting poppies is a difficult task and is not recommended. Still, it is possible if the correct precautions are taken. Poppies germinate quite easily, but quickly develop a central taproot that does not like to be disrupted. By planting seeds in biodegradable peat or coco pots, this problem can be avoided.

Four to six weeks before the last frost date, plant two or three seeds per pot and lightly cover with soil. Mist and cover with plastic wrap to retain heat and humidity. Pots can be placed on a heat mat and seedlings should appear in about two weeks. Remove the plastic when germination is apparent. When seedlings are about 5 cm in height, thin to a single sprout. Provide bright, filtered light for seedlings. Gradually acclimate young poppies to the outdoors by hardening them off. Prepare the garden bed and dig planting holes (30-45 cm apart) large enough to accommodate the entire pot. Plant the poppies, backfill with soil and water well.

The planting site should be in full sun to encourage strong growth and abundant blooms. If the site is well-drained, poppies can adapt to many types of soil. They’ll even survive and grow in poor soil, but to achieve outstanding results, the addition of a little organic material will go a long way.

Established poppies require little water to thrive. Too much water can quickly lead to leggy, weak stems. Your watering duties are likely to be taken care of by mother nature if you receive regular rainfall. Deadheading spent flowers will prolong the blooming window. Poppy flowers are not frost tolerant, but their seeds will endure cold winters and sprout reliably next spring.

QUICK FACTS

- California poppy fully thrive in high elevation, around 2,500m.

- A true North American wildflower, California poppies are native to the sunshine state of course, but are also found over wide areas of Washington, Oregon, Arizona, Nevada, New Mexico, Baja California and Sonora.

- During the 1800s, California poppies spread wild via cargo ships in Chili, Australia and other parts of the world with similar climates.

- Poppy seeds will remain viable for 4 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2022, the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!