Semences de romarin

$2.59

Le romarin est devenu un aliment de base dans de nombreuses cuisines du monde entier pour ses propriétés médicinales et culinaires. Cette vivace ligneuse atteindra sa maturité la deuxième année et performera pendant 15 à 20 ans si elle est plantée dans les zones de rusticité canadiennes 7 à 9 avec une certaine protection hivernale ou si elle est abritée dans un garage ou un abri de jardin pendant les mois les plus froids.

Les plantes peuvent atteindre 2 à 3 pieds de haut dans de bonnes conditions et peuvent même devenir un arbuste à feuilles persistantes de 3 à 5 pieds de haut dans les climats plus chauds. Cette herbe riche en huile est assez persistante dans le jardin, mais elle a besoin d'un système de drainage fiable, sinon les racines pourraient pourrir, c'est pourquoi le romarin est un excellent choix pour la culture en pot.

Le feuillage est gris verdâtre et les minuscules fleurs allant du blanc au bleu sont très attrayantes pour les abeilles et autres pollinisateurs bénéfiques. Les fines aiguilles ressemblant à des conifères conservent leurs arômes longtemps après la récolte et se marient très bien avec les soupes, les salades, les ragoûts et les rôtis. Le romarin est également utilisé pour l'huile parfumée populaire qui est souvent utilisée dans les savons et l'aromathérapie.

 

- Nom latin : Salvia rosmarinus
- Cycle de vie : Annuel, Vivace dans les zones 7- 9
- Zone de rusticité Canada : 7-9
- Jours jusqu'à maturité : 65-70
- Profondeur de plantation : 5 mm
- Espacement des plantes : 50-100 cm
- Habitude de croissance : 30 à 90 cm de hauteur

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

L'une des herbes culinaires les plus largement utilisées et reconnues est le romarin vivace à feuilles persistantes. La saveur et le parfum distincts se combinent bien avec d'autres assaisonnements pour compléter une grande variété de plats.

Démarrez les graines à l'intérieur 10 à 12 semaines avant la dernière date de gel sous des lumières fluorescentes dans un mélange de départ de graines en vrac. En raison de son faible taux de germination, assurez-vous de semer beaucoup de graines à une profondeur de 5 mm. Si le sol est maintenu à 18 degrés, les graines devraient germer en 21 jours environ.

Repiquez les semis à l'extérieur après le dernier gel printanier. Le romarin doit être cultivé dans l'endroit le plus chaud et le plus ensoleillé possible. Un sol pauvre peut être toléré s'il est très bien drainé. Espacez les plantes de 50 à 100 cm pour leur donner suffisamment d'espace pour pousser. Le romarin se marie bien avec la lavande et la sauge et son parfum puissant repoussera de nombreux parasites. Gardez le sol humide pendant qu'il s'établit. Ensuite, laissez la zone sécher un peu entre les arrosages.

Pour récolter, prélevez des boutures de 10 à 15 cm à l'extrémité des branches, au besoin. Ne taillez pas plus d'un tiers de la plante à un moment donné, une coupe dure stressera la plante. Le romarin peut ne pas hiverner aussi bien qu'une plante vivace dans les climats extrêmement froids, mais les contenants de l'herbe peuvent être emportés à l'intérieur et conservés sous des lampes fluorescentes pendant les hivers rigoureux.

FAITS EN BREF

- Le romarin tire son nom de Rosmarinus officinalis, des mots latins ros (rosée) et maris (de la mer).

Les anciens Grecs croyaient que le romarin était un aide-mémoire, les élèves portaient souvent une branche dans les cheveux.

- Les Romains utilisaient le romarin pour aromatiser le vin.

- Pendant longtemps, le romarin était utilisé pour tuer les germes et désinfecter, il était brûlé dans les chambres des personnes malades.

- Les graines de Rosemary resteront viables pendant 2 ans si elles sont stockées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

<tc>Notre garantie sur les semences</tc>

Vous savez qu'un jardin luxuriant et fructueux a besoin d'un bon sol, d'arrosages fréquents et du soleil pour pousser, mais ce sont les semences qui font vraiment la différence.

Cueillies et ensachées pour 2023, la grande majorité de nos semences ont des taux de germination de plus de 85 %. Toutes nos semences sont entièrement naturelles, sans OGM, non hybrides, non traitées et à pollinisation libre pour récolter les semences année après année.

Nos semences sont  soigneusement emballées dans des pochettes refermables, en papier kraft/aluminium de qualité alimentaire. Nos commandes sont ensuite expédiées dans des enveloppes rembourrées respectueuses de l'environnement.

Nous thermoscellons chacun de nos sachets de semences pour encore plus de protection contre l'humidité, les odeurs et la lumière, vous permettant de conserver vos semences jusqu'à 3 fois plus longtemps que dans du papier ou plastique. Plantez-les toutes, faites-en germer quelques-unes à l'intérieur, gardez-en pour la saison prochaine - à vous de décider !

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 31 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
31
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
KD
10/11/2022
Katie D.
Canada Canada

These seeds are going to make an amazing C...

These seeds are going to make an amazing Christmas gift for my best friend. This shop has a great variety of unusual seeds, and I was surprised by an extra pack of poppies! Thank you.

NL
19/10/2022
Nadia L.
Canada Canada

always happy with my purchase from this se...

always happy with my purchase from this seller

EM
08/07/2022
Etincelle M.

Fast shipping and seeds are growing! So ha...

Fast shipping and seeds are growing! So happy thanks!

V
18/02/2022
Victoria

Really excellent shop! The packaging on th...

Really excellent shop! The packaging on their seeds is professional and really pretty looking! I loved the free seeds too! Top notch service!! I've actually sewn these seeds and have, miraculously had 100% success with them. Rosemary is hard!

R
17/02/2022
Rebecca

Germinated really quickly, which is not co...

Germinated really quickly, which is not common for rosemary. Thank you!

Rosemary Seeds

$2.29

Rosemary has become a staple in many kitchens around the world for its medicinal and culinary properties. This woody perennial will reach its maturity in the second year and will perform for 15-20 years if planted in Canadian hardiness zones 7-9 with some winter protection or if it is sheltered in a garage or a garden shed during the coldest months.

The plants can reach 2-3 feet tall in good conditions and can even become an evergreen shrub of 3-5 feet tall in warmer climates. This oil-rich herb is quite persistent in the garden, but it needs a reliable drainage system, otherwise the roots might rot, which is why rosemary is an excellent choice for container growing.  

Foliage is greenish-gray and the tiny flowers that range from white to blue are quite attractive to honeybees and other beneficial pollinators. The thin, conifer-like needles retain their aromas for a long time after harvest and pair really well with soups, salads, stews and roasts. Rosemary is also used for popular fragrant oil that is often used in soaps and aromatherapy.

 

- Life Cycle: Annual, Perennial in zones 7-9
- Days to Maturity: 40-50 days after transplanting
- Canada Hardiness Zone: 7-9
- Planting Depth: 5 mm
- Plant Spacing: 50-100 cm
- Growth Habit: 30-90 cm tall

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

One of the most widely used and recognized culinary herbs is the evergreen perennial rosemary. The distinct flavour and fragrance combines well with other seasonings to complement a wide variety of dishes.

Start seeds indoors 10-12 weeks before the last frost date under fluorescent lights in a loose seed starting mix. Because of its poor germination rate, be sure to sow plenty of seed at a depth of 5 mm. If soil is kept at 18 degrees, seeds should germinate in about 21 days.

Transplant seedlings outside after the last spring frost has passed. Rosemary should be grown in the warmest and sunniest location possible. Poor soil can be tolerated if it is very well-drained. Space plants 50-100 cm apart to give them plenty of room to grow. Rosemary pairs well with lavender and sage and its strong fragrance will repel many pests. Keep the soil moist while it is getting established. Afterwards, let the area dry out a bit between waterings.

To harvest, take 10-15 cm cuttings from the tips of branches as needed. Do not prune more than one third of the plant at any given time, a hard cutting will stress the plant. Rosemary may not overwinter as well as a perennial in extremely cold climates, but containers of the herb can be taken inside and kept under fluorescent lights during harsh winters. 

QUICK FACTS

- Rosemary gets its name from Rosmarinus officinalis, from the latin words ros (dew) and maris (from the sea).

- The Ancient Greeks believed rosemary to be a memory aid, students would often wear a branch in their hair.

- The Romans used rosemary to aromatize wine.

- For a long time, rosemary was used to kill germs and disinfect, it would be burned in the rooms of sick people.

- Rosemary seeds will remain viable for 2 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2022, the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 28 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
28
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
V
18/02/2022
Victoria

Really excellent shop! The packaging on th...

Really excellent shop! The packaging on their seeds is professional and really pretty looking! I loved the free seeds too! Top notch service!! I've actually sewn these seeds and have, miraculously had 100% success with them. Rosemary is hard!

R
17/02/2022
Rebecca

Germinated really quickly, which is not co...

Germinated really quickly, which is not common for rosemary. Thank you!

R
17/02/2022
Rebecca

Germinated really quickly, which is not co...

Germinated really quickly, which is not common for rosemary. Thank you!

JR
10/02/2022
Joylynn R.

Exactly what I expected Has clear instruc...

Exactly what I expected Has clear instructions online in description. Looking forward to growing it.

BH
28/11/2021
Brittany H.

The seeds arrived quick, in great packagin...

The seeds arrived quick, in great packaging! Almost all the seeds germinated and sprouted. Starting a indoor herb garden, and I'm so excited! Thank you so much! The added touch of the sunflower seeds was great! We can't wait to plant them next year!