Semences de melon d'eau ''Sugar Baby''

$2.29

Ce melon héritage a été introduit sur le marché des semences pour la première fois aux en 1959 et est rapidement devenu populaire pour sa petite taille et sa forte teneur en sucre. Les vignes de ''Sugar Baby'' produisent de petits melons d'eau ronds pesant en moyenne huit à dix livres chacun, avec une chair rouge très sucrée et croustillante. 

Le melon d'eau ''Sugar Baby'' est prêt en 75 jours environ, contre 120 jours pour les melon d'eau de taille normale. ''Sugar Baby'' est une variété compacte à maturation rapide qui est idéale pour les petits jardins 

 

- Nom latin: Citrullus lanatus
- Cycle de vie: annuelle
- Jour jusqu'à maturité: 75-90
- Profondeur des semences: 2-3 cm
- Espacement des plants: 90-120 cm ou 30 cm avec treillis
- Espacement des rangées: 1,5-1,8 m
- Habitude de croissance: vigne 

INSTRUCTIONS DE CULTURE

Dans la chaleur torride d'un après-midi d'été, quoi de plus désaltérant que de savourer une tranche de melon d'eau juteuse et sucrée? La culture de melon d'eau est certainement plus répandue dans les climats chauds, mais les producteurs dans les régions froides peuvent quand même obtenir de bons rendements en démarrant les graines à l'avance. Le melon d'eau est un joyau estival qui très facile à cultiver à partir de semences mais qui aura besoin de beaucoup de soleil et d'espace dans le jardin. À partir du jour de la transplantation, la récolte peut prendre jusqu'à 100 jours, selon la variété.

Semez les graines 2 à 3 semaines avant la date du dernier gel. Plantez dans des pots individuels, à environ 1 cm de profondeur. Utilisez des pots légèrement plus grands que d'habitude pour permettre une bonne croissance des racines. Les pots compostables peuvent aussi être une bonne option, les plants peuvent ainsi être transplantés directement sans perturber les racines. Si elles sont maintenues humides et à une température chaude, les semences devraient germer en quelques jours. Assurez-vous que les semis recoivent beaucoup de lumière pendant les premières semaines.

Lorsque le sol atteint au moins 18 °C, préparez-vous à acclimater et à transplanter. Les melons d'eau ont tendance à avoir besoin d'une abondance de nutriments pour produire leurs énormes fruits. Alors, préparez la terre à l'avance en y mélangeant beaucoup de compost. Assurez-vous que ce site soit en plein soleil, a un sol meuble et bien drainé et que les vignes ont suffisament d'espace pour se propager. Transplantez très soigneusement, les racines sont fragiles et peuvent être facilement endommagées. Vous pouvez planter en rangées traditionnelles espacées d'environ 2 m, ou en buttes de 1,5 m de large, espacées de 60 à 90 cm.

Arroser les jeunes plants de 3 à 5 cm d'eau/semaine jusqu'à la maturation des fruits. Réduisez l'arrosage à ce point pour favoriser des fruits plus sucrés. Ajoutez du paillis pour retenir l'humidité au sol et fournir une base sèche où les fruits pourront se reposer à mesure qu'ils mûrissent.

Soyez bienveillant avec les pollinisateurs! Des fleurs mâles et femelles sont produites et ont besoin d'insectes indigènes pour faciliter la fécondation.

Pour savoir si un melon d'eau est mûr, donnez-lui une claque! Les melons au son creux devraient être prêts. Si le dessous est de couleur crème ou jaune, c'est aussi un bon indicateur de maturité. Enfin, vérifiez la tige où elle est attachée au fruit. Si elle est encore verte, attendez encore un peu. Une fois que la tige commence à flétrir ou qu'elle est morte, le fruit devrait être prêt à être cueilli. Coupez la tige avec une pince ou un couteau près du fruit.

Le melon d'eau est une gâterie sucrée essentielle que chaque jardinier devrait cultiver pour mieux apprécier les chaleurs estivales!

FAITS EN BREF

- La première preuve de la culture du melon d'eau provient de l'Égypte ancienne, où il était cultivé pour sa forte teneur en eau et entreposé pour être consommé pendant les saisons sèches. Au VIIe siècle, les melons d'eau étaient cultivés en Inde. Au Xe siècle, is avaient atteint la Chine et au XVIIe siècle, étaient largement plantés en Europe.

- Les semences de melon d'eau resteront viables pendant 4 ans si elles sont entreposées dans un endroit frais et sombre, idéalement entre 4 et 10⁰C. Après cela, le taux de germination peut commencer à baisser.

<tc>Notre garantie sur les semences</tc>

Vous savez qu'un jardin luxuriant et fructueux a besoin d'un bon sol, d'arrosages fréquents et du soleil pour pousser, mais ce sont les semences qui font vraiment la différence.

Cueillies et ensachées pour 2023, la grande majorité de nos semences ont des taux de germination de plus de 85 %. Toutes nos semences sont entièrement naturelles, sans OGM, non hybrides, non traitées et à pollinisation libre pour récolter les semences année après année.

Nos semences sont  soigneusement emballées dans des pochettes refermables, en papier kraft/aluminium de qualité alimentaire. Nos commandes sont ensuite expédiées dans des enveloppes rembourrées respectueuses de l'environnement.

Nous thermoscellons chacun de nos sachets de semences pour encore plus de protection contre l'humidité, les odeurs et la lumière, vous permettant de conserver vos semences jusqu'à 3 fois plus longtemps que dans du papier ou plastique. Plantez-les toutes, faites-en germer quelques-unes à l'intérieur, gardez-en pour la saison prochaine - à vous de décider !

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 16 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
16
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
CR
30/09/2022
Caroline R.
Canada

Great quality seeds and fast shipping

Great quality seeds and fast shipping

JL
26/08/2022
John L.
Canada

Item received in good order and will be pl...

Item received in good order and will be planted next year

PC
23/07/2022
Pnutt C.
Canada

We have plants !!! they are thriving, than...

We have plants !!! they are thriving, thank you!

JG
20/07/2022
Jess G.
Canada

'5 stars review from Jess'

'5 stars review from Jess'

YB
18/07/2022
Yolnta B.
Canada

'5 stars review from Yolnta'

'5 stars review from Yolnta'

Sugar Baby Watermelon Seeds

$2.29

This classic heirloom icebox type melon was first introduced in 1959 and quickly became popular for its small size and high sugar content. Sugar Baby vines produce small, round watermelons averaging eight to ten pounds each, with a very sweet, crisp, red flesh.

The Sugar Baby watermelon ripens 8-12 pounds fruits in about 75 days, compared to 120 days for full-sized watermelons. This compact variety is an ideal candidate for smaller gardens.

 

- Latin Name: Citrullus lanatus
- Life Cycle: Annual
- Days to Maturity: 75-90
- Planting Depth: 2-3 cm
- Plant Spacing: 90-120 cm or 30 cm with trellis
- Row Spacing: 1.5-1.8 m
- Growth Habit: Spreading-vine

GROWING INSTRUCTIONS

In the blazing heat of a summer afternoon, what’s more quenching than enjoying a juicy, sweet slice of watermelon? Watermelon for sure is more prevalent in warmer climates, but growers in cold regions can have success starting seeds indoors. This summertime gem will need plenty of sun and space, but can easily be started from seed. From the day of planting it can take up to 100 days to harvest, depending on the variety.

Start seeds 2-3 weeks before the last frost date. Plant into separate pots, about 1 cm deep. Use slightly larger pots than usual  to accommodate expansive root growth. Or, compostable pots may be a good option. They can be transplanted directly with little disturbance to the roots. If kept moist  and at a warm temperature seeds should germinate within a few days. Provide plenty of light for the first few weeks.

When soil reaches at least 18°C, prepare to harden off and transplant. Watermelons tend to need an abundance of nutrients in order to produce their enormous fruits. So, prepare the bed beforehand with plenty of compost. Make sure this site receives full sun, has loose, well-drained soil and that vines will have plenty of space to spread. Transplant very carefully, roots are fragile and can be damaged easily. Either plant in traditional rows about 2 m apart, or in 1.5 m wide mounds, 60-90 cm apart.

Provide young plants with 3-5 cm of water/week until fruit are set. Reduce water at that point to promote the production of sweet fruit. Add mulch to retain moisture and provide a dry resting place for fruit as it matures.

Be good to your pollinators! Male and female flowers are produced and need healthy native insects to aid in fertilization.

To tell if a watermelon is ripe. Give it a slap! Hollow sounding melons should be ready. If the underside is a cream or yellow color, that is a good indicator of maturity. Finally, check the stem where it is attached to the fruit. If it is still green, wait. Once it starts to die off, or is dead, the fruit should be ready to pick. Snip the stem with clippers or a knife close to the fruit.

Watermelon is an essential sweet treat that every gardener should grow to help beat the summer heat!

QUICK FACTS

- The first evidence of watermelon cultivation is in Ancient Egypt, where they were cultivated for their high water content and stored to be eaten during dry seasons. During the seventh century, watermelons were cultivated in India, by the 10th century had reached China, and by the 17th century, were widely planted in Europe.

- Watermelon seeds will remain viable for 4 years if stored in a cool, dark place, ideally between 4 and 10⁰C. After that, the germination rate may start to go down.

OUR SEED GUARANTEE

You know that a lush, fruitful garden needs good soil, frequent watering, and sunlight to grow, but it’s the seeds that really make the harvest.

Picked and bagged for 2023 the vast majority of our seeds have germination rates of over 85%. The seeds are all-natural, non-GMO, non-hybrid, untreated, and open-pollinated for seed saving.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the design and packaging of our seed packets. Our seeds are all carefully packed in food grade kraft paper/aluminium zipper lock bags, and then are shipped in eco-friendly padded mailers.

We heat-seal each of our seed packet for even more protection from moisture, odour and light, allowing you to store your seeds for up to 3x longer than paper or plastic. Plant them all, germinate some indoors, save some for next season - it’s up to you!

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 12 Reviews
5 ★
100% 
12
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Write a Review

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
HM
02/07/2022
Hilda M.

I'm looking forward to eating these tasty...

I'm looking forward to eating these tasty watermelons! :)

L
10/06/2022
Ls

Planted the watermelon, will see if the fr...

Planted the watermelon, will see if the frost didn't hurt it!

SL
10/04/2022
Seini L.

they sprouts beautifully, and I forgot to...

they sprouts beautifully, and I forgot to labled them, not sure which one is which, but all the seeds bought from this seller were great.

T
08/04/2022
Tom

The seeds sprouted very quickly in just a...

The seeds sprouted very quickly in just a few weeks.

S
30/01/2022
Shirleykelly

Great product. The germination process has...

Great product. The germination process has begun. Please note that I received a packet of sunflower seeds as well.